Brussels Furniture Fair

Trade fair address
Brussels Expo
Place de Belgique 1
1020 Brussels, Belgium

Postal address
Brussels Furniture Fair
Allée Hof ter Vleest 5 b7
1070 Brussels, Belgium

T +32 (0)2 558 97 20
F +32 (0)2 558 97 30
adm@meubelbeurs.be

BTW/TVA BE 0407.635.867
IBAN: BE09 4352 2515 4157
BIC: KREDBEBB

Team

Lieven Van den Heede

Lieven Van den Heede

General Manager

T +32 (0)2 558 97 20

Chantal Janssens

Chantal Janssens

Sales Manager and VIP-guest service

T +32 (0)2 558 97 20

Thomas Hibert

Thomas Hibert

Operations Manager

T +32 (0)2 558 97 20

Veerle Tuytschaever

Veerle Tuytschaever

Accountancy and Operations

T +32 (0)2 558 97 20

De Meubelbeurs Brussel

historiek

80 years of the Brussels Furniture fair

November 5, 2017

In 2017, the Brussels Furniture Fair celebrates its 80th anniversary and this makes it the oldest furniture fair in Europe. This has not come about by chance, but is the result of hard work, daring to question itself, innovation and keeping up with the times. The fair is more international than ever. 61% of its visitors are from abroad, and there are more foreign manufacturers than Belgians among the exhibitors too. The 80th anniversary is celebrated with a new logo, a new house style and of course also with a glass of champagne! The new house style reflects

A truly international trade fair

May 31, 1978

31 May 1978: The international role played by the fair was becoming increasingly clear. That’s why the npo again changed its name, becoming “International Furniture Trade Fair, Brussels” (NL: “Internationale Vakbeurs van het Meubel, Brussel”), which is still the fair’s official title today.

The golden sixties

June 12, 1960

In 1960 the Furniture Fair occupied three halls and there were 154 stands to visit. And for the first time, there were also exhibitors from abroad! Although there were only 14 of them…

Two trade fairs in one year

June 5, 1959

1959 was an exceptional year: trade fairs were held in both February and December. That year also saw the trade fair expand significantly. In February, 80 exhibitors filled a single hall, but in December the number of exhibitors had grown to 119 and halls 7 and 9 were used.

A new name

May 9, 1956

9 May 1956: The name changes to “National Furniture Industry Trade Fair” (NL:“Nationale Beurs der Meubelnijverheid; FR: Foire Nationale de l’Industrie du Meuble”). At that point, the trade fair took up just one of the Cinquantenaire’s exhibition palaces (now Brussels Expo). That year, the list of exhibitors comprised exclusively Belgian manufacturers, the majority of which have since disappeared.

Foundation

February 6, 1937

Foundation

6 February 1937: The Belgian Official Gazette publishes the statues of the “Foire Nationale des Fabricants de Meubles, à Bruxelles”, founded on 1 February of that year. Mr Gaston De Neyer from Brussels is the first chairman. His director is Mr Dieudonné Van Hoey from Mechelen.

Salon International du Meuble Bruxelles asbl

Adresse du salon
Brussels Expo
Place de Belgique 1
1020 Bruxelles, Belgique

Adresse postale
Salon du Meuble Bruxelles asbl
Allée Hof ter Vleest 5 b7
1070 Bruxelles, Belgique

T +32 (0)2 558 97 20
F +32 (0)2 558 97 30
adm@salondumeuble.be

TVA BE 0407.635.867
IBAN: BE09 4352 2515 4157
BIC: KREDBEBB

Team

Lieven Van den Heede

Lieven Van den Heede

Directeur général

T +32 (0)2 558 97 20

Chantal Janssens

Chantal Janssens

Sales Manager et VIP-guest service

T +32 (0)2 558 97 20

Thomas Hibert

Thomas Hibert

Operations Manager

T +32 (0)2 558 97 20

Veerle Tuytschaever

Veerle Tuytschaever

Comptabilité et Operations

T +32 (0)2 558 97 20

De Meubelbeurs Brussel

historiek

2017

Le Salon du Meuble de Bruxelles fête ses 80 ans

En 2017, le Salon du Meuble de Bruxelles célèbre ses 80 ans et confirme ce faisant son statut de plus ancien salon du meuble d’Europe. Cette belle longévité n’est bien entendu pas le fruit du hasard mais le résultat de dur labeur, de remises en question, d’innovations et d’un suivi attentif des tendances et évolutions de notre temps. Le salon ne cesse aussi de s’internationaliser, avec 61 % des visiteurs qui nous viennent de l’étranger et une majorité également d’exposants venus d’au-delà des frontières de la Belgique. Pour fêter cet anniversaire, le salon se pare d’un nouveau logo et style maison, le tout agrémenté bien sûr d’une coupe de champagne ! Le nouveau style maison témoigne du dynamisme

Un véritable salon international

31 mai 1978 : Le statut international du salon se dessine de plus en plus. L’asbl décide donc de changer à nouveau de nom et devient le « Salon International du Meuble – Bruxelles », qui est encore la dénomination officielle actuelle.

1960s : les années d’or

En 1960, le Salon du Meuble occupe trois palais dans lesquels se retrouvent 154 exposants, dont les premiers venus de l’étranger ! Certes, ils n’étaient encore que 14…

Deux salons en un an

L’année 1959 est assez exceptionnelle, puisque deux salons y sont organisés : un premier en février et un deuxième en décembre. L’évènement prend aussi beaucoup d’ampleur au fil de l’année. Ainsi, alors qu’en février, 80 exposants étaient installés dans un seul palais, l’édition de décembre compte déjà 119 stands, répartis dans les palais 7 et 9.

Changement de nom

9 mai 1956 : Le nom est remplacé par « Foire nationale de l’Industrie du Meuble ».  À cette époque, le salon n’occupe encore qu’un seul hall du Palais des Expositions (aujourd’hui devenu Brussels Expo). Sur la liste des exposants figurent exclusivement des fabricants belges, dont la plupart n’existent plus à l’heure actuelle.

1937

Fondation

Fondation6 février 1937 : Le Moniteur belge publie les statuts de « La Foire nationale des Fabricants de Meubles, à Bruxelles », fondée le 1er février de la même année. À sa tête, on trouve M. Gaston De Neyer, de Bruxelles, comme premier président du CA, et M. Dieudonné Van Hoey, de Malines, comme premier directeur.

Fondation